跳到内容
复杂性
地球的自然系统已经进化了46亿年。 我们能从大自然的错综复杂中学到什么?
叙述:
  • Devika Bakshi

中国人食用大米的历史长达至少1.1万年,大米是最早被驯化的植物之一,也是文明的基础。 在许多亚洲语言中,“大米”和“食物”用同一个词表示。

大米粒有一层坚硬的外壳,称为谷壳,大米只有在去掉谷壳后才能食用。 谷壳内有一层棕色的米糠,米糠内是浅色的米粒。 直到19世纪末,人们所称的“大米”都是包括米糠的。 我们现在称之为“糙米”。

新型工业碾米机的发明能够去除谷壳和米糠,露出浅色、几乎是雪白的米粒。 白米被认为是更现代的食品,人们喜欢它的淀粉甜味,最重要的是,没有米糠的大米几乎可以无限期地储存。

在工业碾米机问世后不久,一种名为脚气病的新的致命疾病在亚洲出现了。 当时的科学家们认定它是由细菌引起的,但没有发现病原。 最终的发现是,脚气病是由缺乏一种关键的营养素——硫胺素——造成的,这种营养素存在于全谷粮食中,但白米中没有。 重新食用糙米可以治愈这种疾病。 硫胺素最终被命名为维生素B1。

脚气病是人类第一批已知的“缺陷病”之一。我们的食品生产越是工业化,就越倾向更精制的淀粉、糖和肉,我们食用的植物就越少。 随着我们放弃演变了千万年才形成的复杂膳食,科学家也发现了越来越多的维生素。

复杂性和科学的局限性

科学让我们深入了解了我们生活的世界,但依然存在着许多科学还无法解释的东西。 其中一个很好的例子,就是我们对人类健康的理解还非常有限,而人类健康是非常复杂的。 生长在肥沃土壤中的植物含有数不清的、我们的身体很可能需要的矿物质和化学物质。 这些物质被称为“微量元素”。百里香中的抗氧化剂(如左所列)就是一个例子。

简单地说,维生素是一组科学已经确认为必不可少的微量元素,缺乏它们之中的一种会导致一种单一的、新的疾病。 几乎所有其他的元素(如百里香里的成分)还依然是未解之谜。 因此,从科学和工业的角度来说,它们还没有证明任何价值。 然而,新的发现一直在告诉我们,复杂、多样化的食品才是真正有营养的。 随着越来越多的人转向失去了复杂性的工业化膳食,各种疾病,尤其是源于我们的身体机能失调的慢性疾病,也不停地出现和蔓延。

我们掌握了更大的改造自然的权力,把它简化、扭曲,认为它存在的目的就是为我们所用。 在几十年的时间里,我们把自然看做可以开采的资源,现在,我们可以清楚地看到地球的物理极限和改造地球的风险。

中国人食用大米的历史长达至少1.1万年,大米是最早被驯化的植物之一,也是文明的基础。 在许多亚洲语言中,“大米”和“食物”用同一个词表示。

大米粒有一层坚硬的外壳,称为谷壳,大米只有在去掉谷壳后才能食用。 谷壳内有一层棕色的米糠,米糠内是浅色的米粒。 直到19世纪末,人们所称的“大米”都是包括米糠的。 我们现在称之为“糙米”。

新型工业碾米机的发明能够去除谷壳和米糠,露出浅色、几乎是雪白的米粒。 白米被认为是更现代的食品,人们喜欢它的淀粉甜味,最重要的是,没有米糠的大米几乎可以无限期地储存。

在工业碾米机问世后不久,一种名为脚气病的新的致命疾病在亚洲出现了。 当时的科学家们认定它是由细菌引起的,但没有发现病原。 最终的发现是,脚气病是由缺乏一种关键的营养素——硫胺素——造成的,这种营养素存在于全谷粮食中,但白米中没有。 重新食用糙米可以治愈这种疾病。 硫胺素最终被命名为维生素B1。

脚气病是人类第一批已知的“缺陷病”之一。我们的食品生产越是工业化,就越倾向更精制的淀粉、糖和肉,我们食用的植物就越少。 随着我们放弃演变了千万年才形成的复杂膳食,科学家也发现了越来越多的维生素。

复杂性和科学的局限性

科学让我们深入了解了我们生活的世界,但依然存在着许多科学还无法解释的东西。 其中一个很好的例子,就是我们对人类健康的理解还非常有限,而人类健康是非常复杂的。 生长在肥沃土壤中的植物含有数不清的、我们的身体很可能需要的矿物质和化学物质。 这些物质被称为“微量元素”。百里香中的抗氧化剂(如左所列)就是一个例子。

简单地说,维生素是一组科学已经确认为必不可少的微量元素,缺乏它们之中的一种会导致一种单一的、新的疾病。 几乎所有其他的元素(如百里香里的成分)还依然是未解之谜。 因此,从科学和工业的角度来说,它们还没有证明任何价值。 然而,新的发现一直在告诉我们,复杂、多样化的食品才是真正有营养的。 随着越来越多的人转向失去了复杂性的工业化膳食,各种疾病,尤其是源于我们的身体机能失调的慢性疾病,也不停地出现和蔓延。

我们掌握了更大的改造自然的权力,把它简化、扭曲,认为它存在的目的就是为我们所用。 在几十年的时间里,我们把自然看做可以开采的资源,现在,我们可以清楚地看到地球的物理极限和改造地球的风险。

驯化与支配

在农业实现工业化之前,人们学会了适应土地、顺着土地规律生活。 他们观察规律,总结出生活和健康的指导原则。

例如,世界各地的农民都会在种植谷物的同时种植豆类,厨师也会把豆子和谷物一起烹饪。 近几十年来的科学发展发现了这种搭配的益处。 豆类和豆科植物吸收大气中的氮并固定在土壤中,谷物提取土壤中的氮,用于促进生长。 豆类和谷物都只含有人体所需的部分必需氨基酸,但如果一起食用,它们会形成一种完整的蛋白质。 也就是说,科学证实了亿万人通过耕作、烹饪和饮食文化所学习到的知识。

1700年,地球的人口大约为6亿,全球已有约10%的可耕地从森林或草原被改造成了农田,其中欧洲和中国的变化最大。 到19世纪初,美国几乎所有的森林都被砍伐,以推动以蒸汽机为动力的工业化。 从19世纪末开始,人类与土地的关系开始迅速改变。 在人类的聪明才智和化石燃料的推动下,工业化使人们有能力使用机器产生和控制大量的能源和土地。 劳动由机器承担,人们离开了农场。 反过来,农场开始种植更适合机器的农作物,农业变成了农业综合企业。

随着对自然控制的加强,人类人口激增:1928 年 20 亿,1960 年 30 亿,1987 年 50 亿,2023 年 80 亿。在这一过程中,森林,尤其是热带国家的森林被砍伐,以开辟更多的农田,特别是用于种植牛肉。

工业化耕作的指导原则是现代化的——规模、速度、标准化。 土地的概念被简化为一个表面,这个表面上的田地里种着范围有限的作物,田地用化石燃料衍生的化学品施肥,喷洒杀虫剂,每年由巨大的机器翻耕。 到目前为止,这个系统成功地增加了卡路里的产量,但也造成了土地的简化和退化。 不同于将牲畜和多种作物混合树木和森林的传统耕作方式,工业化耕作使土壤裸露,也没有野生动物在此生活。 曾经的农场化腐朽为健康,化死亡为生机,而工业化的农业和土地利用几乎在每一个步骤都产生废物,包括现在大气中20%的碳排放。

驯化与支配

在农业实现工业化之前,人们学会了适应土地、顺着土地规律生活。 他们观察规律,总结出生活和健康的指导原则。

例如,世界各地的农民都会在种植谷物的同时种植豆类,厨师也会把豆子和谷物一起烹饪。 近几十年来的科学发展发现了这种搭配的益处。 豆类和豆科植物吸收大气中的氮并固定在土壤中,谷物提取土壤中的氮,用于促进生长。 豆类和谷物都只含有人体所需的部分必需氨基酸,但如果一起食用,它们会形成一种完整的蛋白质。 也就是说,科学证实了亿万人通过耕作、烹饪和饮食文化所学习到的知识。

1700年,地球的人口大约为6亿,全球已有约10%的可耕地从森林或草原被改造成了农田,其中欧洲和中国的变化最大。 到19世纪初,美国几乎所有的森林都被砍伐,以推动以蒸汽机为动力的工业化。 从19世纪末开始,人类与土地的关系开始迅速改变。 在人类的聪明才智和化石燃料的推动下,工业化使人们有能力使用机器产生和控制大量的能源和土地。 劳动由机器承担,人们离开了农场。 反过来,农场开始种植更适合机器的农作物,农业变成了农业综合企业。

随着对自然控制的加强,人类人口激增:1928 年 20 亿,1960 年 30 亿,1987 年 50 亿,2023 年 80 亿。在这一过程中,森林,尤其是热带国家的森林被砍伐,以开辟更多的农田,特别是用于种植牛肉。

工业化耕作的指导原则是现代化的——规模、速度、标准化。 土地的概念被简化为一个表面,这个表面上的田地里种着范围有限的作物,田地用化石燃料衍生的化学品施肥,喷洒杀虫剂,每年由巨大的机器翻耕。 到目前为止,这个系统成功地增加了卡路里的产量,但也造成了土地的简化和退化。 不同于将牲畜和多种作物混合树木和森林的传统耕作方式,工业化耕作使土壤裸露,也没有野生动物在此生活。 曾经的农场化腐朽为健康,化死亡为生机,而工业化的农业和土地利用几乎在每一个步骤都产生废物,包括现在大气中20%的碳排放。

今天的全球粮食生产用地

消除大自然的复杂性

据估计,创造4升(1加仑)石油需要90吨的有机生物和数千万年的时间。 一辆普通的汽车只需要几分钟就能把这些复合物中的古老的碳还原为大气中的二氧化碳

一次热浪就能融化千万年的冰层,让新的河流灌入大海,或融化一层层冻土,在地球表面形成裂缝和孔洞,释放出许多世纪前固存的大气中的碳。

一棵古老森林中的大树,年复一年地通过它的叶子、树枝、树干和树根捕获碳,同时固定和滋养土壤,庇护树下生物和动物,并与它周围的树木紧密合作。 砍掉它则只需要几分钟,而且,即使再种植一片树苗,也无法取代它储存的碳。

农民通过混合作物、多样化的耕作方法和动植物混合饲养,可以把废物转化为养分来滋养土壤,让耕作的土壤更加肥沃。 每年翻耕单一作物的田地会破坏土壤结构,使受到风雨侵蚀,导致数十年的积累在一场风暴中被吹走或冲走。

不断增长的人口规模和变暖的大气层使我们无法简单地重拾传统耕作和土地管理模式。 幸运的是,我们已经掌握了许多重要的智慧,可以帮助我们培育和恢复复杂、多样、健康的生态系统。 在面对气候变化时,这样的系统——无论是在土地里还是在我们的身体里,都有更强的应变能力和适应性,也更宝贵。

在以下几页里,我们将探讨和解释那些创造和维持生态系统的复杂关系、人类如何改变它们,以及干旱和干旱化带来的具体问题。 气候带地图显示了地方气候如何随着大气层变暖而转变。 干燥度地图指出了哪些地区面临着新威胁和潜在威胁。

消除大自然的复杂性

据估计,创造4升(1加仑)石油需要90吨的有机生物和数千万年的时间。 一辆普通的汽车只需要几分钟就能把这些复合物中的古老的碳还原为大气中的二氧化碳

一次热浪就能融化千万年的冰层,让新的河流灌入大海,或融化一层层冻土,在地球表面形成裂缝和孔洞,释放出许多世纪前固存的大气中的碳。

一棵古老森林中的大树,年复一年地通过它的叶子、树枝、树干和树根捕获碳,同时固定和滋养土壤,庇护树下生物和动物,并与它周围的树木紧密合作。 砍掉它则只需要几分钟,而且,即使再种植一片树苗,也无法取代它储存的碳。

农民通过混合作物、多样化的耕作方法和动植物混合饲养,可以把废物转化为养分来滋养土壤,让耕作的土壤更加肥沃。 每年翻耕单一作物的田地会破坏土壤结构,使受到风雨侵蚀,导致数十年的积累在一场风暴中被吹走或冲走。

不断增长的人口规模和变暖的大气层使我们无法简单地重拾传统耕作和土地管理模式。 幸运的是,我们已经掌握了许多重要的智慧,可以帮助我们培育和恢复复杂、多样、健康的生态系统。 在面对气候变化时,这样的系统——无论是在土地里还是在我们的身体里,都有更强的应变能力和适应性,也更宝贵。

在以下几页里,我们将探讨和解释那些创造和维持生态系统的复杂关系、人类如何改变它们,以及干旱和干旱化带来的具体问题。 气候带地图显示了地方气候如何随着大气层变暖而转变。 干燥度地图指出了哪些地区面临着新威胁和潜在威胁。

Skip to content
Complexity
Earth’s natural systems have evolved over 4.5 billion years. What can we learn from nature’s complexity?

People in China were eating rice at least 11,000 years ago, making it one of the first domesticated plants and a foundation of civilization. The word for rice is the same as the word for food in many Asian languages.

Rice kernels have a hard outer layer called a hull which must be removed for rice to be edible. Inside the hull is a brown layer of bran, and inside that bran is a light-colored kernel of rice. Until the late 1800s, what people called “rice” included the bran. We now call that food “brown rice.”

The invention of new, industrial milling machines enabled the removal of both the husk and the bran, revealing a light, almost white kernel. White rice was perceived as more modern, its starchy sweetness appealed to people, and most valuable of all, without its bran, it could be stored almost indefinitely.

Shortly after the introduction of industrial milling machines, a new lethal disease called beriberi emerged in Asia. At the time, scientists assumed it must be caused by bacteria but found no culprit. They eventually discovered that beriberi was caused by the loss of a critical nutrient, Thiamin, present in the whole grain but missing from white rice. People who went back to a diet of brown rice recovered from the disease. Thiamin was eventually named vitamin B1.

Beriberi was among the first known “deficiency diseases.” The more we industrialized food production, the more it moved toward purer starches, sugars, and meat, and the fewer plants we ate. The more we abandoned our complex diets that evolved over thousands of years, the more vitamins scientists discovered.

Complexity and the limits of science

Science offers tremendous insights into the world we live in, yet there is much that science cannot explain. Our limited understanding of human health, which is incredibly complex, is a good example. Plants that grow in rich soil contain myriad minerals and chemical compounds that our bodies likely find useful. These are called “micronutrients.” Consider the antioxidants in thyme (listed at left).

Vitamins are simply a set of micronutrients that science has been able to confirm are essential, mostly because their absence caused a single, novel disease. Almost all of the others (like those in thyme) remain a mystery. In turn, science and industry assign them no value. Yet we continue to discover that complex, diverse food is truly nourishing. As more of the world has transitioned to an industrial diet stripped of its complexity, diseases, especially chronic ones in which our bodies act confused, have continued to emerge and spread.

As we have gained more power over nature, we have simplified it, distorted it, and assumed that it exists to serve us. After several decades of treating nature as a resource to be exploited, we can now clearly see the physical limits of the planet and the risks of transforming it.

People in China were eating rice at least 11,000 years ago, making it one of the first domesticated plants and a foundation of civilization. The word for rice is the same as the word for food in many Asian languages.

Rice kernels have a hard outer layer called a hull which must be removed for rice to be edible. Inside the hull is a brown layer of bran, and inside that bran is a light-colored kernel of rice. Until the late 1800s, what people called “rice” included the bran. We now call that food “brown rice.”

The invention of new, industrial milling machines enabled the removal of both the husk and the bran, revealing a light, almost white kernel. White rice was perceived as more modern, its starchy sweetness appealed to people, and most valuable of all, without its bran, it could be stored almost indefinitely.

Shortly after the introduction of industrial milling machines, a new lethal disease called beriberi emerged in Asia. At the time, scientists assumed it must be caused by bacteria but found no culprit. They eventually discovered that beriberi was caused by the loss of a critical nutrient, Thiamin, present in the whole grain but missing from white rice. People who went back to a diet of brown rice recovered from the disease. Thiamin was eventually named vitamin B1.

Beriberi was among the first known “deficiency diseases.” The more we industrialized food production, the more it moved toward purer starches, sugars, and meat, and the fewer plants we ate. The more we abandoned our complex diets that evolved over thousands of years, the more vitamins scientists discovered.

Complexity and the limits of science

Science offers tremendous insights into the world we live in, yet there is much that science cannot explain. Our limited understanding of human health, which is incredibly complex, is a good example. Plants that grow in rich soil contain myriad minerals and chemical compounds that our bodies likely find useful. These are called “micronutrients.” Consider the antioxidants in thyme (listed at left).

Vitamins are simply a set of micronutrients that science has been able to confirm are essential, mostly because their absence caused a single, novel disease. Almost all of the others (like those in thyme) remain a mystery. In turn, science and industry assign them no value. Yet we continue to discover that complex, diverse food is truly nourishing. As more of the world has transitioned to an industrial diet stripped of its complexity, diseases, especially chronic ones in which our bodies act confused, have continued to emerge and spread.

As we have gained more power over nature, we have simplified it, distorted it, and assumed that it exists to serve us. After several decades of treating nature as a resource to be exploited, we can now clearly see the physical limits of the planet and the risks of transforming it.

Domestication vs. domination

Until agriculture was industrialized, people learned to live on and with the land. They observed the patterns and discerned the principles that guided life and led to health.

For example, farmers around the world grew beans and legumes alongside grains, and cooks served beans with grains at meals. In recent decades, science has explained why this pair was so beneficial. Bean and legume plants pull nitrogen out of the atmosphere and into the soil, where grains extract it for their growth. Both beans and grains contain only some essential amino acids that the human body needs, but when eaten together, they create a complete protein. In this case, science has validated what hundreds of millions of people had learned through cultures of farming, cooking, and eating.

In 1700, there were about 600 million people on Earth, and about 10% of arable land had been transformed from forest or grassland into farmland, with the largest changes in Europe and China. By the early 1800s, almost all of the forests in the United States were cut down to fuel steam-engine-powered industrialization. Beginning in the late 1800s, the human relationship with land began to change rapidly. Powered by human ingenuity and fossil fuels, industrialization gave people with machines the capacity to generate and control vast amounts of energy and land. As machines did the work, people left farms. In turn, farms grew crops that suited machines, and agriculture became agribusiness.

With more control over nature, human populations boomed: 2 billion in 1928, 3 billion in 1960, 5 billion in 1987, and almost 8 billion in 2022. Along the way, forests, especially in tropical countries, have been cleared to create more farmland, particularly for beef.

Industrial farming’s guiding principles are modern: scale, speed, and standardization. It simplifies the land into a surface for growing a narrow range of crops on fields that are fertilized with fossil-fuel-derived chemicals, covered in pesticides, and plowed annually by enormous machines. This system has, thus far, increased the number of calories produced, but it has simplified and degraded the land. Unlike traditional farming practices that mix livestock and diverse crops with trees and forests, industrial farming leaves the soil exposed and shelters no wildlife. Where once farms turned decay into health and death into life, industrial agriculture and land use produces waste at nearly every step and is now responsible for at least 20% of carbon emissions into the atmosphere.

Domestication vs. domination

Until agriculture was industrialized, people learned to live on and with the land. They observed the patterns and discerned the principles that guided life and led to health.

For example, farmers around the world grew beans and legumes alongside grains, and cooks served beans with grains at meals. In recent decades, science has explained why this pair was so beneficial. Bean and legume plants pull nitrogen out of the atmosphere and into the soil, where grains extract it for their growth. Both beans and grains contain only some essential amino acids that the human body needs, but when eaten together, they create a complete protein. In this case, science has validated what hundreds of millions of people had learned through cultures of farming, cooking, and eating.

In 1700, there were about 600 million people on Earth, and about 10% of arable land had been transformed from forest or grassland into farmland, with the largest changes in Europe and China. By the early 1800s, almost all of the forests in the United States were cut down to fuel steam-engine-powered industrialization. Beginning in the late 1800s, the human relationship with land began to change rapidly. Powered by human ingenuity and fossil fuels, industrialization gave people with machines the capacity to generate and control vast amounts of energy and land. As machines did the work, people left farms. In turn, farms grew crops that suited machines, and agriculture became agribusiness.

With more control over nature, human populations boomed: 2 billion in 1928, 3 billion in 1960, 5 billion in 1987, and almost 8 billion in 2022. Along the way, forests, especially in tropical countries, have been cleared to create more farmland, particularly for beef.

Industrial farming’s guiding principles are modern: scale, speed, and standardization. It simplifies the land into a surface for growing a narrow range of crops on fields that are fertilized with fossil-fuel-derived chemicals, covered in pesticides, and plowed annually by enormous machines. This system has, thus far, increased the number of calories produced, but it has simplified and degraded the land. Unlike traditional farming practices that mix livestock and diverse crops with trees and forests, industrial farming leaves the soil exposed and shelters no wildlife. Where once farms turned decay into health and death into life, industrial agriculture and land use produces waste at nearly every step and is now responsible for at least 20% of carbon emissions into the atmosphere.

Global land use for food production today

Undoing nature’s complexity

It took an estimated 90 metric tons of living organic matter and tens of millions of years to create 4 liters (1 gallon) of petroleum. The average automobile returns that complex, ancient carbon to atmospheric CO2 in a matter of minutes.

One heat wave can melt millennia of ice, sending rivers of water into the sea or thawing layers of frozen ground, creating cracks and holes in the earth’s surface and releasing carbon that had been taken out of the atmosphere many centuries ago.

A large tree in an old forest captures carbon in its leaves, branches, trunk, and roots every year while securing and enriching the soil, sheltering undergrowth and animals, and cooperating with the trees around it. It can be felled in a matter of minutes, and the stored carbon cannot be replicated by planting a field of saplings.

Farmers who nurture their soil through mixing crops, practicing diverse farming methods, and raising animals and plants together to turn waste into nutrients can enrich the soil they work. Annual tilling of monoculture fields tears up the soil and exposes it to rain and wind, allowing decades of growth to blow or wash away in a single storm.

Our growing population size and the warming atmosphere will not allow us simply to return to historical patterns of farming and land management. Fortunately, we already have much of the wisdom necessary to cultivate and restore complex, diverse, healthy ecosystems. Such systems—whether in the ground or in our bodies—are more resilient and adaptable, valuable traits as the climate changes.

The following pages explore and explain the complex relationships that create and sustain ecosystems, the ways humans have altered them, and the specific challenges posed by drought and aridification. Maps of climate zones show how local climates transition as the atmosphere warms. Maps of dryness illuminate areas that face new and potential threats.

Undoing nature’s complexity

It took an estimated 90 metric tons of living organic matter and tens of millions of years to create 4 liters (1 gallon) of petroleum. The average automobile returns that complex, ancient carbon to atmospheric CO2 in a matter of minutes.

One heat wave can melt millennia of ice, sending rivers of water into the sea or thawing layers of frozen ground, creating cracks and holes in the earth’s surface and releasing carbon that had been taken out of the atmosphere many centuries ago.

A large tree in an old forest captures carbon in its leaves, branches, trunk, and roots every year while securing and enriching the soil, sheltering undergrowth and animals, and cooperating with the trees around it. It can be felled in a matter of minutes, and the stored carbon cannot be replicated by planting a field of saplings.

Farmers who nurture their soil through mixing crops, practicing diverse farming methods, and raising animals and plants together to turn waste into nutrients can enrich the soil they work. Annual tilling of monoculture fields tears up the soil and exposes it to rain and wind, allowing decades of growth to blow or wash away in a single storm.

Our growing population size and the warming atmosphere will not allow us simply to return to historical patterns of farming and land management. Fortunately, we already have much of the wisdom necessary to cultivate and restore complex, diverse, healthy ecosystems. Such systems—whether in the ground or in our bodies—are more resilient and adaptable, valuable traits as the climate changes.

The following pages explore and explain the complex relationships that create and sustain ecosystems, the ways humans have altered them, and the specific challenges posed by drought and aridification. Maps of climate zones show how local climates transition as the atmosphere warms. Maps of dryness illuminate areas that face new and potential threats.