跳到内容
什么是温室地球轨迹?
以下是我们对这一可能的变暖轨迹所了解和不了解的情况
2024 年 2 月 14 日

在地球的历史上,我们的星球经历了迥然不同的全球气候,这些气候受到流星撞击、火山爆发、地球倾斜和自旋变化等各种力量的影响。在大多数情况下,这些事件并没有瞬间改变地球的平均温度:它们改变了地球的系统,使全球气温在数千年到数百万年间逐渐上升或下降。这些漫长而稳定的温度变化将地球推向了超高温和寒冷的低温。 

100 多万年来,地球气候一直处于冰川-间冰期的循环中,在严重的冰期和较温和、较温暖的条件之间波动了数万年。过去 1.2 万年前所未有的稳定的全新世气候是一个较温和的间冰期,在此期间,温和的变暖力量抵消了地球逐渐回到另一个严重冰期的自然趋势。

目前,人类造成的气候变暖程度之高,已经超过了冰川-间冰期周期。随着温室气体的排放,大气温度升高,导致新的风险出现。我们不仅达到了比过去 120 万年中任何时候都要高的温度,而且我们可能会把地球气候推向一种叫做温室地球的轨迹。

什么是温室地球轨迹?

"温室地球 "是由约翰-罗克斯特伦、凯瑟琳-理查森和汉斯-约阿希姆-谢尔胡伯在 2018 年的一篇论文中提出的,指的是一种可能的轨迹,在这种轨迹中,人类造成的气候变化将使我们的星球走上难以或无法控制的变暖道路。

在 "温室地球 "情景中,人类排放的温室气体会激活地球气候机制,最终将全球气候推向一个临界点,使其持续、自我延续地变暖,而不受人类排放的影响。

这幅图显示了过去一亿年全球平均气温的历史,以及到 2100 年可能的变暖轨迹。

温室地球的力学原理

一系列机制正在共同作用,使我们有可能走上温室地球的轨道。这些机制包括温室气体排放、气候反馈和临界点。

温室气体排放

目前,人类通过广泛使用化石燃料向大气层排放的温室气体已足以使全球气温升高。全球平均气温在大约 1.2 万年前地球摆脱更新世冰期后趋于稳定,进入了以稳定为特征的全新世。现在,气温上升的速度比已知历史上任何时候都要快。气温上升可能引发一系列事件,使地球进入温室地球轨道。

气候反馈

大气温度升高可能会激活地球系统中的循环反应,即气候反馈,从而导致进一步变暖。

以森林中的碳循环为例,说明这些反馈是如何起作用的。森林从大气中吸收二氧化碳,将其锁在树叶、树干和树根中。随着全球气温的升高,更热、更干燥的环境会导致更多的野火。这些野火烧毁树木,将储存的二氧化碳重新释放到大气中,成为温室气体,使地球进一步变暖。这就是反馈回路:大气中的碳越多,气温就越高,气温越高,火灾就越多,火灾越多,大气中的碳就越多。

下面举例说明其他可使全球气温升高的强大反馈:

  • 冰原和冰川融化会减少反射冰盖的数量,增加海洋吸收的阳光量,从而导致温度升高和更多的融化。
  • 解冻的永久冻土会释放温室气体,因为之前冻结的有机物会腐烂。更多的热量释放出更多的温室气体,导致更多的热量,从而导致更多的解冻。
  • 冰融化对海洋环流模式的破坏会加剧厄尔尼诺南方涛动,这是一种影响全球气温的强大天气模式。较暖的海水浮出海面,使大气变暖,导致环流模式发生更多变化。

世界各地都存在气候反馈回路,它们会或多或少地加剧人类活动直接导致的气候变暖,从而启动 "温室地球 "的下一个重要机制:临界点。

临界点

人类排放和气候反馈回路共同产生的变暖效应可能会引发全球气候的转变事件,即 "临界点"。"临界点 "描述的是一种机制,通过这种机制,反馈回路开始产生深刻的变暖效应,从而永久性地大幅改变全球气候。 

例如,如果人类排放的温室气体导致气温急剧上升,以至于野火、干旱和森林衰退导致亚马逊雨林不再吸收温室气体,而是释放温室气体,那么即使人类停止排放温室气体,这种释放也会提高大气中的温室气体浓度。此外,亚马逊河流域的干燥和变化会扰乱世界各地的天气模式。这种变化一旦发生,很可能是不可逆转的。

另一个临界点是格陵兰冰盖的消失,它目前通过反射阳光和热量来帮助地球降温。如果气温持续变暖导致格陵兰冰盖失去临界质量,不仅海平面会上升,而且变暖效应也会大幅改变海洋温度,扰乱有助于调节全球天气状况的关键洋流。 

通过这样的临界点可能会产生足够的额外变暖,从而引发其他临界点,造成更严重的变暖。这种一连串的连锁影响将导致地球变暖失控,推动地球自身变暖,而不是趋于稳定:这就是温室地球。

我们越过临界点的速度很重要,越过临界点的程度也很重要。例如,如果格陵兰岛注定要失去它的冰原,那么它受到的影响将使气候更加不稳定。如果格陵兰岛在 50 年内失去冰盖,情况要比 1000 年内严重得多,而这两者之间的差别取决于我们变暖的程度和变暖的速度。换句话说,勉强越过临界点与快速越过临界点是截然不同的。

如果我们启动 "温室地球 "轨迹,会发生什么?

虽然我们无法预测 "温室地球 "轨迹的某些方面,但我们知道以下几点。

失去控制

目前,人类造成了 100% 的气候变化。如果我们触发了温室地球轨迹,地球就会自我变暖。如果人类是气候变化汽车的驾驶者,那么启动 "温室地球 "就等于失去对方向盘、油门和刹车的控制。当我们越过临界点时,气候变暖的程度就越大,我们必须采取更激烈的行动才能保持控制。

一个面目全非的星球

2018年论文的作者称,温室地球轨迹上的行星状况最终将 "类似于......几百万年前最后出现的行星状态"。我们并不确切地知道这会是什么样子,但很可能许多让我们认识到地球的事物--植物、动物和其他生物--将无法适应持续变暖的轨迹。

不可逆转的变化

上述变化,如亚马逊雨林的消失或格陵兰冰盖的消失,在对人类至关重要的时间尺度上是不可逆转的,地球要恢复到与我们现在享有的稳定气候类似的状态,即使有可能,也要等上千年。

我们离激活温室地球还有多远?

科学家不知道地球及其大气层过渡到温室地球轨迹的确切温度。虽然反馈回路和临界点都会使未来变得更危险、更不稳定,但反馈回路有强有弱,临界点有可能逐渐通过,也有可能迅速通过。

但有证据表明,一些关键的气候反馈作用已经开始启动。这并不意味着我们正处于 "温室地球轨迹 "上,但风险正在上升。据估计,一些相关的临界点将出现在升温 1.5 摄氏度到 2 摄氏度之间。

我们避免这些关键临界点的最好办法就是减少并最终停止排放温室气体。无论地球处于何种升温水平,临界点都会放大,因此,如果我们仍然无法避免激活临界点,那么当我们激活临界点时,地球的温度越低,我们的处境就越好。此外,逐渐、稳定的变暖比我们现在造成的快速变暖危险性要小:勉强越过临界点可能被证明是可逆的,而急速越过临界点则会增加失控的风险。

想了解您关心的地方的气温变化情况吗?阅读第一部分:气候手册中的热量,了解温室地球的更多信息。

Skip to content
What is the Hothouse Earth trajectory?
Here’s what we do and don’t know about this possible warming trajectory
February 14, 2024

Throughout Earth’s history, our planet experienced vastly different global climates, influenced by forces as diverse as meteor impacts, volcanic eruptions, and shifts in the earth’s tilt and spin. For the most part, these events didn’t change Earth’s average temperature instantaneously: They altered Earth’s systems in such a way that global temperatures gradually rose or fell over thousands to millions of years. These long, steady temperature shifts pushed the planet to super hot highs and frigid lows. 

Earth’s climate has been in a glacial-interglacial cycle for over a million years, fluctuating over tens of thousands of years between severe ice ages and milder, warmer conditions. The unprecedented stable Holocene climate of the last 12,000 years is a milder interglacial period during which moderate warming forces offset the natural tendency for the earth to gradually head back towards another severe ice age.

Humans are now causing so much warming that we have overwhelmed the glacial-interglacial cycle. As greenhouse gas emissions trap heat, atmospheric temperatures rise, causing a new risk to emerge. We are not only reaching higher temperatures than any point in the last 1.2 million years, but we might push Earth’s climate into something called the Hothouse Earth trajectory.

What is the Hothouse Earth trajectory?

“Hothouse Earth” was coined in a 2018 paper by Johan Rockström, Katherine Richardson, and Hans Joachim Schellnhuber and refers to a possible trajectory in which human-caused climate change sets our planet on a warming path that would be difficult or impossible to control.

In a Hothouse Earth scenario, human greenhouse gas emissions activate mechanisms in Earth’s climate that eventually push the global climate over a threshold into continued, self-perpetuating warming, independent of human emissions.

This graphic shows the history of average global temperatures over the past 100 million years as well as a possible warming trajectory into 2100.

The mechanics of Hothouse Earth

A series of mechanisms is working together to potentially put us on the Hothouse Earth trajectory. Those mechanisms are greenhouse gas emissions, climate feedbacks, and tipping points.

Greenhouse gas emissions

Humans have now contributed enough greenhouse gases to the atmosphere through the widespread use of fossil fuels to raise global temperatures. Global average temperatures stabilized after the planet emerged from the Pleistocene ice age roughly 12,000 years ago and entered the Holocene, which was distinctive for its stability. Temperatures are now rising more quickly than at any time in known history. These rising temperatures could trigger the series of events that would put Earth on the Hothouse Earth trajectory.

Climate feedbacks

Warmer atmospheric temperatures could activate looped responses in Earth’s systems, called climate feedbacks, that generate further warming.

For an example of how these feedbacks work, consider the carbon cycle in a forest. Forests absorb carbon dioxide from the atmosphere, locking it into the leaves, trunks, and roots of trees. As global temperatures rise, hotter, drier conditions lead to more wildfires. These wildfires burn trees, releasing all of that stored carbon dioxide back into the atmosphere, where it acts as a greenhouse gas warming the planet further. This is the feedback loop: More carbon in the atmosphere leads to higher temperatures which leads to more fires which leads back to more carbon in the atmosphere.

Here are examples of other powerful feedbacks that can raise global temperatures:

  • Melting ice sheets and glaciers reduce the amount of reflective ice cover, increasing the amount of sunlight the oceans absorb, which leads to higher temperatures and more melting.
  • Thawing permafrost releases greenhouse gasses as previously frozen organic matter decays. More heat releases more greenhouse gasses, which lead to more heat, which leads to more thawing.
  • Disruption to ocean circulation patterns from melting ice can intensify the El Nino southern oscillation, a powerful weather pattern that influences global temperature. Warmer water comes to the surface, warming the atmosphere, and causing more changes in the circulatory pattern.

There are climate feedback loops around the world that can add, either in small or large amounts, to the warming caused directly by human activity, engaging the next important mechanism in activating Hothouse Earth: tipping points.

Tipping points

The combined warming effect of human emissions and climate feedback loops could trigger transformative events in the global climate called tipping points. “Tipping point” describes the mechanism by which a feedback loop starts having such a profound warming effect that it permanently and drastically changes the global climate. 

For example, if human greenhouse gas emissions cause temperatures to rise so much that wildfire, drought, and forest dieback cause the Amazon rainforest to no longer absorb greenhouse gasses but instead release them, this release would raise greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere even if human emissions stopped. Moreover, a drying, changing Amazon could disrupt weather patterns around the world. Once underway, a change like this would likely be irreversible.

Another tipping point is the loss of the Greenland ice sheet, which currently helps to cool the planet by reflecting sunlight and heat. If sustained warmer temperatures were to cause the Greenland ice sheet to lose critical mass, not only would sea levels rise, but the warming effect would drastically change ocean temperatures, disrupting crucial ocean currents that help to regulate global weather conditions. 

Passing tipping points like these could generate enough additional warming that they could trigger other tipping points, generating even more warming. This cascading chain of impacts would amount to runaway planetary warming that propels itself, rather than stabilizing: This is Hothouse Earth.

The speed with which we pass tipping points matters, as does the amount by which we pass them. For example, if Greenland is destined to lose its ice sheet, there are impacts that will further climate instability. It’s much worse if Greenland loses it in 50 years than in 1,000 years, and the difference between those two is a function of how much warmer we get and how fast we get there. In other words, barely crossing a tipping point is very different from zooming past it.

What happens if we activate the Hothouse Earth trajectory?

While there are aspects of the Hothouse Earth trajectory we can’t predict, here’s what we do know.

Losing control

At the moment, humans account for 100% of climate change. If we trigger a Hothouse Earth trajectory, the planet would become self-warming. If humans are driving the car of climate change, initiating Hothouse Earth would be like losing control of the steering wheel, the accelerator, and the brakes. The more warming there is when we cross tipping points, the more dramatic our actions would have to be to retain control.

An unrecognizable planet

According to the authors of the 2018 paper, planetary conditions on the Hothouse Earth trajectory would eventually “resemble planetary states… last seen several million years ago.” We don’t know precisely what this would look like, but it is likely that many of the things that make our planet recognizable to us—plants, animals, and other organisms—would be unable to adapt to a trajectory of continuous warming.

Irreversible changes

The changes described above, like the loss of the Amazon rainforest, or the Greenland ice sheet, would be irreversible on time scales that matter to humans, and it would be millennia before the planet returned to a climate similar to the stable one we enjoy now, if ever.

How close are we to activating Hothouse Earth?

Scientists do not know the precise temperature at which the planet and its atmosphere would transition into a Hothouse Earth trajectory. While both feedback loops and tipping points can make the future riskier and more unstable, feedback loops can be strong or weak, and tipping points can be passed gradually or rapidly.

But there is evidence that activation of some of the key climate feedbacks has already begun. This does not mean that we are on the Hothouse Earth Trajectory, but the risks are rising. Because some relevant tipping points are estimated to occur between 1.5°C and 2°C of warming, each incremental bit of warming grows in significance.

Our best chance at avoiding these crucial tipping points is to reduce and eventually stop emitting greenhouse gasses. Tipping points amplify whatever warming level the planet is at, so if we still can’t avoid activating them, we will be better off the cooler the planet is when we do. Moreover, gradual, steady warming is less dangerous than the rapid warming we are now causing: Barely crossing a tipping point may prove to be reversible, while zooming past a tipping point increases the risk of losing control.

Want to see how temperatures are changing in places you care about? Read Part 1: Heat in our climate handbook to learn more about Hothouse Earth.