跳到内容
教育一支为气候做好准备的劳动力队伍
气候职业平台Terra.do为专业人士承担气候风险做好准备

超过50%的世界GDP正在被破坏--想想看:能源、运输、农业--或者被改变--想想看:金融、建筑、制造业--气候。为了适应我们的文明,大部分的劳动力需要学习气候技能,建立新的专业网络,并在这十年中找到新的工作类型。气候职业平台Terra.do旨在通过密集的气候变化学习项目、职业发展服务和招聘会来帮助发展这支新的劳动力队伍,到2030年使1亿人从事气候变化工作。

Terra.do为期12周的 "气候变化:学会行动"课程通过20个异步讲座和每周的实验小组,教授气候变化的基础及其全球影响。 

该课程缺乏的是将1.5度、2度和3度变暖的数字带入生活,并帮助学员们直观地了解这些数字在他们的社区可能产生的影响。Terra.do与Probable Futures 合作,以填补这些学习空白。这项合作包括由Probable Futures 执行主任Alison Smart为每一个Terra.do学员提供的客座讲座,以及为期一周的实验室课程,专门用于深入研究Probable Futures 的互动地图。

我们可以向人们抛出我们想要的事实和数字。但是,当你能看到一张事情可能发生的地图,然后解释这对你来说真正意味着什么,那就非常非常清楚了。

在她的客座演讲中,斯玛特将视角放大到一亿年前的全球温度历史,以研究气候稳定和文明之间的联系。这种背景有助于Terra.do的学员们理解我们目前的气候变化速度所固有的风险,并将气候科学所做的预测与他们自己的生活和职业联系在一起。 

在他们的实验课上,研究员们以小组为单位,探索互动地图。学员们以他们当地的区域为重点,详细研究不同的变暖情景和气候影响。然后,所有的研究员聚集在一起,分享他们所学到的东西,以获得对不同地区在一个变暖的世界中可能面临的广泛观点。 

斯玛特的演讲和地图的使用都真正帮助人们理解了我们在课程中所强调的一个要点:气候变暖1度、1.5度或3度之间有什么区别?使用Probable Futures"地图 "使之变得如此清晰。人们可以看看他们居住的地方,了解这对他们可能意味着什么。

对 "为行动而学习 "课程的这一部分的反馈表明,学员们有能力以新的方式构建气候变化,更有效地沟通其风险,并将现实世界的影响与升温程度联系起来。当这些学员过渡到气候工作队伍中时,这些技能将成为他们日常工作的新部分。

Probable Futures 已经令人难以置信地有用。斯玛特的讲座帮助他们理解气候变化,但它确实帮助他们知道如何就气候变化进行沟通。而地图对学员们来说是亲身实践的。它们导致了真正有力的讨论,这对我们来说是非常好的。

Skip to content
Educating a climate-ready workforce
Climate careers platform Terra.do prepares professionals to take on climate risk
February 24, 2023

Over 50% of the world’s GDP is being disrupted—think: energy, transportation, agriculture—or transformed—think: finance, construction, manufacturing—by climate. For our civilization to adapt, much of the workforce needs to learn climate skills, build new professional networks, and find new kinds of work in this decade. Climate careers platform Terra.do aims to help develop this new workforce through intensive climate change learning programs, career growth services, and job fairs to get 100 million people working on climate change by 2030.

Terra.do’s 12-week “Climate Change: Learning for Action” course teaches the foundations of climate change and its global impacts through 20 asynchronous lectures and weekly lab groups. 

What the course lacked was a way to bring the numbers 1.5, 2, and 3 degrees of warming to life and to help fellows visualize what the impacts of those numbers could look like in their communities. Terra.do partnered with Probable Futures to fill these learning gaps. This collaboration includes a guest lecture for every Terra.do cohort by Probable Futures Executive Director Alison Smart and one week’s lab session dedicated to a deep dive into the Probable Futures interactive maps.

We can throw facts and figures at people all we want. But when you can see a map of what things might be and then explain what that would really mean for you, that is very, very clear.

In her guest lecture, Smart zooms out to the history of global temperature 100 million years ago to examine the link between climate stability and civilization. This context helps Terra.do’s fellows understand the risk inherent in our current rate of climate change and make connections between the predictions made by climate science and their own lives and professions. 

In their lab sessions, fellows work in groups to explore the interactive maps. Focusing on their local region, fellows examine different warming scenarios and climate impacts in detail. All of the fellows then convene and share what they learned to get a broad view of what various regions might face in a warming world. 

Both Smart’s talk and the use of the maps have really helped people understand one of the points we’re driving home in the course: What is the difference between warming of 1, 1.5, or 3 degrees? Using Probable Futures’s maps makes that so clear. People can look at where they live and understand what that might mean for them.

Feedback on this portion of the “Learning for Action” course suggests that fellows come away with the ability to frame climate change in new ways, communicate more effectively about its risks, and connect real-world impacts to degrees of warming. As these fellows transition into the climate workforce, these skills will be a new part of their daily tasks.

Probable Futures has been incredibly useful. Smart’s talk helps them understand climate change, but it really helps them also know how to communicate about it. And the maps are hands-on for the fellows. They lead to really robust discussions, which has been fantastic for us.