跳到内容
迎接气候知识普及的时刻
在《世界人权宣言》发表三周年之际致社区的一封信Probable Futures

三年前,Probable Futures ,开始了一个非常规的任务,即建立和分享一个世界可能不知道它需要的气候知识平台。当创始人Spencer Glendon和我,以及我们的早期合作者,为这个倡议设计一个战略时,我们准备面对阻力或矛盾,预计我们可能会花一些时间来说服首席执行官、城市经理和软件开发人员,建立气候知识将是值得花费的时间。相反,今天我们看到一个新的和不断扩大的气候工作队伍积极寻求气候教育资源。 

看到气候行动在各行业和文化中传播,代表着真正的进步。然而,鉴于气候变暖的紧迫性和轨迹,这种行动必须尽可能有效,并尽快部署。因此,现在是引导新的气候劳动力的时刻,为他们提供所需的教育、工具和技能,以帮助我们充分限制排放,使其保持在危险的变暖水平以下,并为一个不断变化的世界建立复原力。   

现在是引导新的气候劳动力的时刻,为他们提供所需的教育、工具和技能,以帮助我们限制排放量,使其保持在危险的变暖水平以下,并为不断变化的世界建立复原力。 

Probable Futures我们的气候知识工具和资源套件已经准备好迎接这一时刻。我们团队的任务是利用这一势头,找到传播我们资源的渠道,让受众参与其中,并最终将这种参与转化为深刻的理解和行动。我今天写这封信是为了与你们,我们的社区,分享我们计划如何做到这一点,为什么需要这样做,以及你们可以如何帮助。 

从戒烟到堕落

最近,一位同事给我发了一篇彭博社的文章,题目很吸引人:"满足气候退出者"。这篇文章由Oscar Boyd和Akshat Rathi撰写,深入探讨了气候变化改变劳动力市场的方式,并记录了 "气候退出者 "的经历,这些人改变职业,从事清洁能源、可持续性和 "绿色工作"。 

我也看到了令人鼓舞的轶事证据来支持这一点。但是,博伊德和拉蒂没有提到的是一个可能更加实质性的趋势--当与气候教育、复原力或缓解相关的任务转移到他们的工作范围内时,人们正在陷入气候工作。

我听到很多这样的故事,无论是在工作中还是在家里一位电视气象学家在介绍现在不那么常规的早间预报时,制片人要求他向观众解释气候变化是如何影响天气的。一个大公司的投资者想用尖端的气候技术投资建议来打动她的老板,对温室气体排放产生有意义的影响。甚至我的丈夫--一个在马萨诸塞州南部和罗德岛当地港口的潜水员--也在学习课程,了解海上风电产业,以便他能与在这里开店的公司做生意。我毫不怀疑,在未来几周、几个月和几年里,我们将听到更多这样的故事。 

扭转排放的轨迹,并建立一个为气候变化做好准备的世界,这一任务将由数百万人完成,他们来自不同的行业,进行日常的、渐进的工作。

扭转排放的轨迹,建立一个为气候变化做好准备的世界,这一任务将由数百万人完成,他们来自不同的行业,进行日常的、渐进的工作。如果每个人都有一个基本的气候知识的基础,他们可以用自己独特的技能和才能来建立,那么这项工作将更加有效,而且可能不那么渐进。

气象学家、投资者和潜水员都拥有各自领域的专业知识和培训,但气候变化给他们的工作带来了新的背景,而且很少有人可能接受过这方面的正规教育。我们不可能让这些人中的每一个人都通过环境科学或可持续发展项目,但我们也不能指望新闻报道和纪录片提供全面的教育。这就是Probable Futures 来填补的空白--提供免费的、自我指导的工具和资源,为新一代的气候工作者提供信息和指导。

从专家到全科医生

一个不太稳定的气候将需要新的技能、价值观和感觉,而且我们不是唯一认识到这一点的人。最近,微软发布了一份重要报告,题为 "缩小可持续发展的技能差距"。在报告中,作者敲响了警钟,可持续发展的角色正在迅速增长,而技术人才库却没有跟上。作为回应,该报告呼吁公司、教育机构和非营利组织大幅扩大气候和可持续性知识和培训资源。但我发现,报告中最吸引人的一点是,微软公司,一家以超专业的软件工程著称的公司,注意到了对具有经验、教育和意识的专业人员的需求,而不仅仅是一个领域或学科: 

最终,重要的是要认识到,可持续发展的转型将需要那些能够将专门的可持续发展知识和技能与不同程度的其他多学科技能组合相结合的人。这些人需要结合STEM和其他文科领域的知识,并包含跨越商业、使用数据和数字技术的技能。这种组合目前很难找到,而且往往不自然存在。

换句话说,在我们需要通才的时候,我们有很多专家。 

在我们需要通才的时候,我们有很多专家。 

有趣的是,我们可以看看气候稳定的历史,以帮助我们理解为什么当初专业化变得如此盛行。稳定性意味着我们不需要过多考虑气候问题,可以把注意力集中在优化人类系统上。多年来,我们的经济越来越需要具有深厚但狭窄技能和知识的工人。我们的学术机构也紧随其后。但是,我们今天面临的问题需要一种通才的方法,以及合作、创造力和道德框架,还有专门的行业和学科。 

这份报告概述了一个很好的例子,当我们第一次开始Probable Futures ,我们没有想到会看到这样的情况,但我们很高兴微软有先见之明,将其公布。看到我们的经济和政府领导人在这个时刻公开承认教育的关键作用,令人振奋。 

从建设到分享

虽然这封信标志着Probable Futures 的三周年,但它也标志着我们的工作进入了一个不同的阶段,重点是在气候科学与学科、行业和文化之间建立新的桥梁。 

虽然这封信标志着Probable Futures 的三周年,但它也标志着我们的工作进入了一个不同的阶段,重点是在气候科学与学科、行业和文化之间建立新的桥梁。 

使这个新阶段成为可能的是构成我们这套产品的基础工具和资源:教育材料、互动地图思想作品、一个可定制的"专业 "工具,以及一个使气候模型数据可获得并易于使用的API。  

现在,我们寻求与那些希望帮助教育和激励其社区的组织合作,因为他们成为新的气候劳动力的一部分。早期的合作正在学术界、专业发展、企业软件、K-12学校系统和社区复原力规划方面出现。随着这些合作关系的发展,我们很高兴与你分享更多,如果你想为你的行业、公司或社区探索与Probable Futures 合作,我们邀请你联系。 

同时,本着这种精神,我们将在Probable Futures 平台上推出一个新的栏目:观点。在这里,我们将发布新的内容,分享资源集,以支持你正在进行的学习之旅,并介绍那些正在应用Probable Futures ,并找到方法帮助他们的社区在不断变化的气候下生活的人和组织。我们希望这些故事能点燃人们的想象力,并成为世界各地的人们和组织在气候工作中找到自己位置的范例。我们可以使用你的帮助。如果你或你认识的人正在使用Probable Futures ,用于教育、讲故事、规划或其他方面,请联系并让我们知道。 

正如我们所有的工作一样,我们对我们任务的下一阶段既有很高的雄心,也有很高的期望。我猜想,许多工作将是实验性的、具有挑战性的和非传统的。尽管如此,我很感激能有机会领导一个团队,其成员以深思熟虑、谦逊和人性化的态度对待挑战。如果有一件事我知道,那就是这项工作将是充实的。我真诚地希望,每一个过渡到气候工作的人都能享受到类似的混乱、挑战和充实的经验组合。也许这可能是你不知道自己需要的经验。 

一如既往,在我们从建设到分享的过程中,我们感谢您的反馈、建议和鼓励。听到你的声音让我们更有信心,我们将一起使一个更好的未来更有可能。 

真诚的、

Alison Smart

链接:

Skip to content
Meeting the climate literacy moment
A letter to our community on the third anniversary of Probable Futures

Three years ago, Probable Futures set out on an unconventional mission to build and share a climate literacy platform that the world might not know it needed. As founder Spencer Glendon and I, along with our early collaborators, devised a strategy for the initiative, we prepared to face resistance or ambivalence, expecting that we might spend some of our days persuading CEOs, city managers, and software developers that building climate literacy would be time well spent. Instead, today we’re seeing a new and expanding climate workforce actively seeking out climate education resources. 

Seeing climate action spread across industries and cultures represents real progress. However, given the urgency and trajectory of warming, that action must be as effective as possible, and be deployed as soon as possible. Thus, now is the moment to orient the new climate workforce, supplying them with the education, tools, and skills they need to help us limit emissions enough to stay below dangerous levels of warming, and to build resiliency for a changing world.   

Now is the moment to orient the new climate workforce, supplying them with the education, tools, and skills they need to help us limit emissions enough to stay below dangerous levels of warming, and to build resiliency for a changing world. 

Probable Futures’s suite of climate literacy tools and resources is ready to meet this moment. Our team’s task from here is to harness the momentum, find channels to disseminate our resources, engage audiences with it, and ultimately, turn that engagement into deep understanding and action. I write this letter today to share with you, our community, how we plan to do that, why it’s needed, and how you can help. 

From quitting to falling

Recently, a colleague sent me a Bloomberg article with an intriguing title: “Meet the Climate Quitters.” The piece, written by Oscar Boyd and Akshat Rathi, delved into the ways in which climate change is transforming the labor market, and chronicled the experiences of “climate quitters,” people making career changes to work in clean energy, sustainability, and “green jobs.” 

I, too, am seeing encouraging anecdotal evidence that backs this up. But what Boyd and Rathi didn’t mention is a trend that is likely to be much more substantial—people who are falling into climate work as tasks related to climate education, resiliency, or mitigation move under their job’s purview. 

I hear lots of these stories, both at work and at home. A television meteorologist presenting the now not-so-routine morning forecast is asked by producers to explain to viewers how climate change is affecting the weather. An investor at a large firm wants to impress her boss with cutting-edge climate tech investment pitches that make a meaningful impact on greenhouse gas emissions. Even my husband—a diver in the local harbors of southern Massachusetts and Rhode Island—is taking courses to learn about the offshore wind industry so that he can do business with the companies setting up shop here. I have no doubt that we will hear many more of these stories in the coming weeks, months, and years. 

The task of turning around the trajectory of emissions, and building a climate-change-ready world, is going to be done by many millions of people, across vastly different industries, performing day-to-day, incremental work.

The task of turning around the trajectory of emissions, and building a climate-change-ready world, is going to be done by many millions of people, across vastly different industries, performing day-to-day, incremental work. That work will be much more effective, and likely less incremental, if everyone has a foundation of basic climate literacy that they can build upon with their unique skills and talents.

Meteorologists, investors, and divers all possess specialized knowledge and training in their respective fields, but climate change brings a new context to their work, and few are likely to have received formal education in it. We won’t be able to put each one of these people through environmental science or sustainability programs, but we also can’t expect news articles and documentaries to provide a comprehensive education either. This is the gap that Probable Futures is here to fill—offering free, self-guided tools and resources, informing and aligning a new generation of climate workers.

From specialist to generalist

A less stable climate is going to require new skills, values, and sensibilities, and we aren’t the only ones to recognize this. Recently, Microsoft released an important report titled “Closing the Sustainability Skills Gap.” In it, the authors sound an alarm that sustainability roles are rapidly growing while a skilled talent pool isn’t keeping up. In response, it calls for a significant expansion of climate and sustainability literacy and training resources from companies, educational institutions, and nonprofits. But I found that one of the most fascinating aspects of  the report was that Microsoft, a company that is known for hyper-specialization in software engineering, noted the need for professionals who have experience, education, and awareness in not just one field or discipline but many: 

Ultimately, it’s important to recognize that the sustainability transformation will need people who can combine specialized sustainability knowledge and skills with varying degrees of other multidisciplinary skill sets. These will need to combine knowledge from STEM and other fields in the liberal arts and encompass skills that span across business, the use of data, and digital technology. This combination currently is hard to find and often doesn’t exist naturally.

In other words, we have lots of specialists when we need generalists. 

We have lots of specialists when we need generalists. 

Interestingly enough, we can look to the history of climate stability to help us understand why specialization became so prevalent in the first place. Stability meant that we didn’t need to think much about the climate and could focus our attention on optimizing human systems. Over the years, our economies increasingly called for workers with deep but narrow skills and knowledge. Our academic institutions followed suit. But the issues we’re facing today require a generalist approach along with collaboration, creativity, and moral frameworks—alongside specialized trades and disciplines. 

This report outlines a good example of something that we didn’t expect to see when we first started Probable Futures, but we are glad Microsoft had the foresight to publish it. It is heartening to see leaders in our economy and our governments publicly recognize the critical role of education at this moment in time. 

From building to sharing

While this letter marks the third anniversary of Probable Futures, it also marks the very beginning of a different phase of our work focused on building new bridges between climate science and disciplines, industries, and cultures. 

While this letter marks the third anniversary of Probable Futures, it also marks the very beginning of a different phase of our work focused on building new bridges between climate science and disciplines, industries, and cultures. 

What makes this new phase possible are the foundational tools and resources that make up our suite of offerings: educational material, interactive maps, thought pieces, a customizable “Pro” tool, and an API making climate model data accessible and easy to use.  

Now we seek collaborations with organizations that want help educating and motivating their communities as they become part of the new climate workforce. Early collaborations are emerging in academia, professional development, enterprise software, K–12 school systems, and community resilience planning. We are excited to share more with you as these partnerships develop, and we invite you to reach out if you would like to explore a collaboration with Probable Futures for your industry, company, or community. 

In the meantime, and in this spirit, we are launching a new section of the Probable Futures platform: Perspectives. In it, we will publish new content, share collections of resources to support your ongoing learning journey, and feature people and organizations who are applying Probable Futures offerings and finding ways to help their communities live well under a changing climate. We are hopeful that these stories will ignite imagination and serve as examples for people and organizations finding their place in climate work all over the world. And we could use your help. If you or someone you know is using Probable Futures for education, storytelling, planning, or anything else, please reach out and let us know. 

As is the case with all of our work, we have both high ambitions and high expectations for this next phase in our mission. I suspect that much of the work will be experimental, challenging, and unconventional. That said, I am grateful to have the opportunity to lead a team whose members approach the challenge with thoughtfulness, humility, and humanity. If there’s one thing I know, it’s that the work will be fulfilling. I sincerely hope that every person making the transition to working on climate will enjoy a similar mix of messy, challenging, and fulfilling experiences. Perhaps it could be the experience you didn’t know you needed. 

As always, we appreciate your feedback, advice, and encouragement as we transition from building to sharing. Hearing from you gives us ever more confidence that together, we will make a better future more probable. 

Sincerely,

Alison Smart

Links: